Cranky Kids and The Cider House Rules

I’ve got a headache. And it’s growing worse by the minute. Lucy is napping and Max is cranky. If I let him chew on paper all day, he’d probably be happy, if not constapated. Fortunately, Alan is on his way home.

Right now, I’m in the middle of John Irving’s The Cider House Rules. I never saw the movie when it came out several years ago and had no clue what the book was about when I picked it up at the Really Big, Really Cheap, Really Good Book Sale last month. Since the paperback I have doesn’t have any description about the book except other people saying how great it is, I didn’t really know what it was about when I started. I had a fuzzy idea that it had something to do with abortion. It does.

I just thought of yesterday’s post when I saw that same silky nightgown on the floor. I gave it to Max and he immediately calmed down. My headache is diminishing.

But back to the book. I’m really enjoying reading it, to the extent that the pace of housework has been reduced from my regular crawl to a complete standstill. There are probably twenty things that I could/should be doing right now but am not. One strange thing about TCHR, is that I’m am half way through and just found out what the cider house rules are. I still have not figured out their significance.

Max is no longer happy with the silky nighty. Back to mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

