Because I Can

I have no clue what to blog about but feel that I must for a variety of reasons: 1) It’s been a long time since my last post, 2) I need to do housework but REALLY don’t want to. Okay. So that’s not a “variety.” More like two.

I’ve been trying to figure out why I hate cleaning so much. I really enjoy the benefit of a neat and tidy house and having clean clothes. But I have a terrible time motivating myself. I’m at a loss. Any ideas?

Most recently in the War Against Dirt, I read Sidetracked Home Executives. If you’re familiar with Fly Lady, you’ve heard this term before but may not have realized that it comes from the title of a book written by two slobby sisters who figured out this crazy method for organizing their lives by using an intricate system of 3×5 notecards. Seriously. As a side note, when Alan and I were first dating, he told me that his mother ascribed to said system and mopped her floor daily. No joke. DAILY. I of course, thought Julie, my future mother-in-law, was off her rocker. And that any book that made someone mop their kitchen EVERY DAY was straight from Hades. On their latest trip to our home, Julie brought her homemaker’s Bible with her for me to read (she’d asked beforehand if I was interested and I replied to the affirmative) and I was surprised to find that it wasn’t the book that made her mop the floor daily. There is no rule in SHE that dictates such a stringent mopping schedule. I suppose the Johnson children tracked in mud at a rate that made such mopping necessary. Regardless, the book wasn’t as stern as I thought it would be. It was a rather fun read, actually.

Of course, after reading a self help book, you’re generally expected to help yourself out of the situation. So I should be on my way to a clean home, right? WRONG. There are a few reasons my home has not been transformed from “pigsty to paradise.” So after reading SHE, I’m thinking I need to go out a buy prescribed jumbo notecard file box and notecards and dividers for the file. But Alan stopped me in my tracks. I’ve got all this momentum going and he tells me that the notecard file box we already possess if fit for the job. REALLY? It’s filled with old receipts we might need and it’s hunter green. If this is something I’m going to do, I’m going to do it right. And it’s going to look pretty. And hunter green does NOT fit into this picture. Any excitement I had at the thought of a clean home is dashed when I think of the hunter green notecard box becoming a permanent kitchen fixture.

The other reason for my house continuing in its usual state of disarray is fatigue. And not my fatigue; Alan’s. Picture this: I get a nap in the afternoon and when we finally get the kids down for bed, I have the energy to do something around the house. But my husband, who has forced himself to get up at 5 a.m. for no apparent reason, is bushed. And promptly falls asleep as soon as his body is still for .6 seconds. Alan, our resident clean freak, is normally the responsible adult who forces himself to fold laundry and unload and load the dishwasher. He is incapable of doing any housework while he snoozes. And I am incapable of doing housework when I have no one to “help.” As I said, I struggle with self-initiating in this area.

And tonight I would have cleaned up but Alan was absent and after calling two friends and only getting their voicemail, I returned to the computer to do something productive. Like blogging. Because I can.

One thought on “Because I Can

  1. Monica

    You are a funny girl, Adair! Do you still try to get out of cleaning up after supper by claiming you have to go to the bathroom and staying in there for at least a half hour? I don’t know, I think that messiness runs in the family. I’ve got a cluttered mess on my dining room table and just about every other flat surface, and my mother-in-law is going to be here in a few hours or so. And I’ve been to Hillary’s house before and it’s no clean and tidy, everything put away paradise! However, all of us–I think–have good taste, and I like all of our styles, but we have one hang-up…putting things away in a timely manner. =) I need to be more disciplined in my life. I read a good definition of discipline the other day: doing the right thing at the right time. I was convicted! Like right now, I need to say goodbye to the pooter and get going before Sandy gets here. Love you! Monica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

